magáért beszél

Hívő, feminista, queer kulturális blog

Hívő, feminista, queer kulturális blog

Have faith! (James 1:5-8)

City Park Lutheran, 03.03. 2019.

2019. március 03. - tuszki

The text of the day comes from the letter of James, chapter 1, verses 5 to 8.

„If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you. But when you ask, you must believe and not doubt, because the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind. That person should not expect to receive anything from the Lord. Such a person is double-minded and unstable in all they do.”

This is the Word of the Lord.

Thanks be to God.

 When I first saw that I would be preaching on this passage, I was like ’oh no! This is the part where the Bible says it’s not okay to have doubts.’ But then I checked the context of the passage and I saw it in a different light.

The historical background behind James’ epistle is that in the 50s there was a growth of turmoil and violence in Roman Judea. Jews became more and more frustrated with corruption, injustice and poverty. Thus, the epistle gives advice on fighting poverty and caring for the poor in practical ways, standing up for the oppressed.

Just next to my college, is the ‘Heated Street’, which gives support to homeless people. As a theology student, I cannot turn away or avoid poverty. It’s right there. I always had a home, but other people don’t.

Our context is very similar to the context of James.

In chapter 1, first James greets the tribes scattered among the nations. In the 60s, war broke out with Rome and lead to the destruction of Jerusalem and the scattering of the people. We are in this situation, and it is in this situation that James is talking about trials and temptations, first of all, the Testing of Faith.

When I was thinking about what it is like to be scattered among the nations what came to my mind, is that it is definitely an unstable situation, especially if you don’t know the language.

I am sure many of you know what it is like to be an expat in this strange culture of Hungary.

I was living and working in Russia for 9 months and even though Russian culture is not that far from Hungarian culture, I had a hard time not knowing the language. This unstable, sometimes out- of- your-comfort-zone situation is a difficult one, it can be a real temptation not to give up. The time passing by is actually the trial. It requires patience, perseverance, trust - just what James is talking about in this passage. To be honest, later I gave it up and left Moscow earlier than my contract ended - and then came back to a smaller town in Russia.

surfing.jpg

The one who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind. – Wind is unpredictable. The wave of the sea - I don’t know for sure because I have never tried surfing but to me it seems like art – staying on top of the wave and surfing it. This must be the art of faith. Surprisingly, in many cases stability comes from letting things go. When you let yourself go straight to God’s hands. Unwavering. Being patient and persistent is hard. Sometimes we feel that time is running, we shouldn’t waste it, let’s do things right now, things need to be happening! But things need time. Sometimes the key moment, when things happen, is when you let go. You let go of your fears, worries, and doubts. Because doubt is often the lack of trust, it is worrying. If we ask from God, do it with trust. Prayer is a confidential thing because we ask someone whom we trust.

What is the double-minded person of whom James is talking like? You never know what the person actually thinks. Can’t be trusted and the person cannot trust others, either. Neither can this person trust God. When you ask for something from God e.g. wisdom, you must believe in it, and trust God that God will give you that wisdom. ’Ask in faith’ says the King James version, „nothing wavering”. If you believe in it, you can do anything. If you have a cause, something you care for, it makes walls fall down.

When I got to this point, I remembered the story of Jericho in the Bible. The Jews marched around the walls once every day, for 6 days with the priests and the ark of covenant. On the 7th day they blew the horns 7 times, gave a common shout, and the walls of the city fell.

Thinking about faith and the power of faith, a song also came to my mind: ’I believe I can fly.’ - ’I was on the verge of breaking down/Sometimes silence can seem so loud/There are miracles in life I must achieve/ But first I know it starts inside of me’ ‘If I just believe it, there is nothing to it.’ Even though it’s not us achieving miracles, it is true, ‘it all starts inside me’ – it all starts with faith.

In a trial, it is actually time itself testing your faith. The test of your faith can produce perseverance.  James, in the previous verses, is describing something similar when talking about trials and maturity: „my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds ... you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature”.

God is not promising a life where there will be no difficulties or trials, where your perseverance won’t be tested. James or God does not say that you will never fall. You will fall but stand up. Falling, or trial teaches you that you can get up, that you have the strength to get up.

My favorite poem of Attila József, a well-known Hungarian poet, is:  ’God was standing here right behind me’. The poem says: ‘… I was crawling. My God standing there/ was looking down on me and didn’t lift me./This freedom made me understand that/I’ll be strong again to get on my feet.//’ (Translation by N. Ullrich Katalin:) – This freedom is the freedom of faith. And God’s freedom, as the King James Version of the text says: ‘God gives liberally’, the NIV: generously, to all.

Proverbs 2: 3-6 is saying ‘if you call out for insight/and cry aloud for understanding, / and if you look for it as for silver/and search for it as for hidden treasure, /then you will understand the fear of the Lord/and find the knowledge of God. /For the Lord gives wisdom; /from his mouth come knowledge and understanding.’ This search, this seeking procedure, the journey is the trial, the test itself. Be persistent, loyal and committed, patient, and meanwhile, you will gain wisdom. The emphasis is on the WILL, future: with time and patience.

 ‘And it will be given to you’, wisdom will be given to you, just have faith!

wp_20190302_12_15_42_pro.jpg

Street art at Ferenc körút, Budapest: 'Don't be afraid, have faith, don't doubt, try, don't worry, trust'!

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://kerkvirfemkult.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr2814665815

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

süti beállítások módosítása